Three named to All-District teams


District 13-4A girls basketball coaches held their yearly postseason meeting last week, wrapping up the final piece of business for the 2017-'18 season by selecting Superlative and All-District honorees. Not surprisingly Canton, the runaway winner of District 13-4A with a perfect 10-0 record, took home four out of six possible Superlative recognitions including Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Wills Point, which finished the 2017-'18 season outside of the playoff picture, had one player earn Second Team All-District honors and two more earn Honorable Mention All-District honors for their play.

Superlative honors included:

-MVP: Kenley Nixon, Canton

-Offensive Player of the Year: Chanlee Oakes, Rains

-Defensive Player of the Year: Hannah Manry, Canton

-Newcomer of the Year: Skylar Savage, Van

-Sixth Man of the Year: Olivia Norrell, Canton

-Coach of the Year: John Hobbs, Canton

First Team All-District:

-Brownsboro: Morgyn Fulgham, McKenzie Smith

-Canton: Mattie Tullos, Ashley Wood

-Mabank: Kathryne German

-Rains: Leo Terry

-Van: Macy Rucker

Second Team All-District

-Brownsboro: Alieah Williams

-Mabank: Briana Martin

-Rains: Autumn Terry

-Van: Kyla Jones, Gracie Brewer

-Wills Point: Harley Sieber

Honorable Mention All-District

-Brownsboro: Katleyn England

-Canton:  Kyndall Nilius and Kayden Prox

-Mabank: Elizabeth Hardy

-Rains: DezaRay Duarte, Makinzie Garvin, Aubrey Gowin, Jaylee Simms, Heagan Steed

-Van: Makiah Dodd, Abi Rumbo, Grace Santos

-Wills Point: Hailey Hoover, Addison Prather

Seven Lady Tigers were recognized this year as being Academic All-District performers including Kyann Collins, Marissa Fields, Kirsten Hatten, Addison Prather, Harley Sieber, Melanie Sullivan and Dawn Smith.

Canton representatives on the Academic All-District team included Rachel Cade, Larissa Holloway, Hannah Manry, Kyndall Nilius, Kenley Nixon, Olivia Norrell, Kayden Prox, Mattie Tullos, Maddie Welty and Ashley Wood.

Van Lady Vandal honorees earning Academic All-District honors included Gracie Brewer, Julie Lemus, Macy Rucker, Abi Rumbo and Haley Thompson.