Crowded field set for WPISD Board races

Election filing for two positions on the Wills Point City Council and three positions on the Wills Point ISD Board of Trustees drew to a close Feb. 16 culminating in what has become a familiar pattern for each entity: a canceled election for the city and at least one new face set to join the school board.

The Wills Point City Council entered the filing period with two positions, those held by Mike Jones and Wade Emerson, set to be put on the May 5 ballot. Jones and Emerson were the only people to return the required paperwork over the month-long filing period clearing the way for the city to cancel its election for the third consecutive year.

Both Jones and Emerson will be sworn into new two-year terms at the May city council meeting.

While the city of Wills Point eased its way through filing with relative ease, the Wills Point ISD saw a flurry of activity of the final weeks of the filing period resulting in all three open places having at least two candidates each.

Ray Thomason, the holder of Place 1 on the board since 2006, was among the first filers in this year’s election cycle. Thomason will have one challenger for a new three-year term on the board with political newcomer Tony Cooper throwing his hat into the ring.

The WPISD will be guaranteed at least one new face as current board president C.W. Wilson, the hold of Place 2 since 2006, declining to file for re-election. Candidates that returned paperwork for Place 2 include newcomers Cory Shidler, Betty Carper and Jason Groom.   

Incumbent Jeff Etheridge, the holder of Place 3 since 2015, was the first candidate to return paperwork declaring his intent to seek a new three-year term. Etheridge has since been joined by two political newcomers on the ballot with Philip McDonald and Clay Deen each returning paperwork before the close of filing Feb. 16.

Election day for the Wills Point ISD will be May 5. The top vote-getter for each place will be administered the oath of office for a three-year term at the May WPISD Board of Trustees meeting.