WPHS Theatre Department nabs district title

Cast and crew members of Wills Point High School’s district winning production of William Shakespeare's "As You Like It" celebrate with their awards and medals.

The Wills Point High School Theatre Department couldn’t have asked for much more at the District One-Act Play competition March 22, winning first overall on top of numerous individual recognitions for members of the cast and crew for their performance of William Shakespeare’s “As You Like It”.

The department’s performance earned a first overall rating from all three panel judges at the district competition, and also included eight individuals earning Superlative and All-Star recognition.

Students receiving awards included Austin Durham being named Best Actor, Alainna Futch being named Best Actress, Lauren Jendrzejewski and Sam Kent being named to the All-Star Cast, Katlyn Lamar and Ty Baker being named to the Honorable Mention All-Star Cast, and Ashlyn Rivera and Kathryn Bell being named part of the All-Star Crew.

In anticipation of the Bi-District competition, the group will be holding a performance for the public Friday, April 1 at the WPHS cafetorium. The performance is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. The department has set the admission price as "pay what you can."

Performances at the Bi-District competition, scheduled for April 2 at Canton High School, are scheduled to begin 2 p.m.

Van HS will take on the first performance with their version of “The Elephant Man”, followed by Mabank HS with “Richard Cory”, Athens HS with “Water by the Spoonful”, Wills Point with “As You Like It”, Crandall HS with “The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby” and Brownsboro HS with “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”.

Performances should last approximately one hour, with admission expected to be $5.

Cast and crew members under the direction of Jamie Keeler, Karin Davis and Lori Lamar include Alainna Futch, Austin Durham, Lauren Jendrzejewski, Collin Kranock, Ty Baker, Sam Kent, Hayden Duckworth, Destini Healy, Katlyn Lamar, Billy Goss, Brandon Wright, Destiny Watson, Dontae Teuton, Amber Wise, Hunter Duckworth, Ashlyn Rivera, Kathryn Bell, Vanessa Oswald, Alyssa Rasmus, Kimberlie Lumsden and Jacquelin Cortez.