Board undergoes reorganization following election

By David Kapitan

Staff Writer

The Wills Point ISD Board of Trustees held their regularly scheduled board meeting on May 12, swearing in newly elected members and reshuffling the board per their annual practice.

Business opened with the canvassing of election results, and the swearing in of C.W. Wilson, Ray Thomason and newcomer Jeff Etheridge. Following the brief swearing in ceremonies, business shifted to the nomination and election of the board president, board vice president and board secretary for the next year.

C.W. Wilson, who held the position of president over the previous year, was reappointed unanimously by fellow board members.

Bryan Southard, the vice president over the past year, nominated board member Chuck Allen for his position. The board unanimously approved the appointment of Allen.

Following the appointment of both Wilson and Allen, Jeanne Deen was nominated and appointed as the board secretary for the upcoming year.

Trustees received a brief presentation following the board restructuring, with Instructional Materials, Technology and Testing Coordinator Nancy Morris delivering her annual report on the district’s instructional material adoption for the 2015-2016 school year.

Business also included trustees receiving a look at the preliminary 5th and 8th grade STAAR Reading scores from campus principals.


To read the full article, subscribe to the Wills Point Chronicle or pick up a copy from one of our vendors.