Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Declaration extended, 10 cases confirmed

Posted in:
  • Declaration extended, 10 cases confirmed

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has extended the disaster declaration for all Texas counties in response to the coronavirus outbreak.

Gov. Abbott’s original disaster declaration was issued March 13, when there were 39 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the state. As of Easter Sunday, April 12, there were a total of 13,484 total cases and 271 deaths reported. The declaration does not extend the emergency order for the state. The declaration just provides the state with resources during the pandemic. The disaster declaration would authorize the use of all available resources of state government and political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster. The disaster declaration will last another days, until at least May 13.

Van Zandt County’s number of positive cases has also grown, with that number reaching 10 as of April 11. Smith County has the highest number of cases and deaths reported, with 96 cases and two deaths; Gregg County, 39 cases, no deaths; Van Zandt County, 10 cases, one death; Henderson County, 10 cases, no deaths; Wood County, five cases, no deaths; Anderson County, three cases, no deaths; and Rains County, one case, no deaths.

The City of Van issued a press release, notifying Van residents that there were four cases of the virus within the city limits on April 9. The release stated that the four cases within the city limits are from community spread, with one patient hospitalized and the other three in home isolation.

The City of Wills Point also released information April 9 that the city had one case of the virus in its city limits. That person is currently at home in home isolation. There is no reliable information released regarding the locations of the other cases as of April 13.